Main Menu


To Learn, Grow, Achieve: Every Child, Every Classroom, Every Day

Widefield School District 3 (WSD3) is a vibrant community tucked away in the southeast side of Colorado Springs. Our climate and culture gives a comforting small-town feel in a big city environment. Widefield is a place you come to learn, live, and play!

Security/Widefield is the largest unincorporated area in Colorado. District 3 takes on many of the functions which are normally performed by municipal governments. The district is governed by a five-member Board of Education, members of which are elected on an at-large basis for four-year terms.

WSD3 manages Widefield Parks and Recreation, formerly known as the Widefield Community Center. Last year, Widefield Parks and Recreation provided numerous community education and recreation activities for more than 56,000 people. The district also oversees the Security Public Library and has built trails and parks in our area for the citizens of our school district.

View a map of our school district boundaries in El Paso County.

School Flyer


Dear Widefield School District 3 Community,

Every year, Colorado school districts report performance to their communities, based on requirements in the No Child Left Behind Act. In addition, state law requires that districts report accreditation information.

Both the information required by federal law and district accreditation information is available on the Colorado Department of Education’s website.


(updated in October)

  • District total: 9,435



To determine the schools of attendance for your street address, open the document below and find your address. If you cannot find your street on our list, please call (719) 391-3011.


The students of Widefield School District 3 are served by two preschools, eight K-5 elementary schools, a K-8 charter school, a PreK-8 school, three 6-8 junior high schools, two 9-12 high schools, an alternative high school, and a K-12 Virtual School - D3 My Way.

We have four schools with innovation status by the Colorado Department of Education.

  1. Grand Mountain - Computer Science Integration
  2. King Elementary - Project Based Learning
  3. Talbott STEAM Innovation School
  4. Widefield Elementary School of the Arts